Program News

Seven writers with Iowa ties earn prestigious literary honors

Wednesday, April 21, 2021
Seven writers with ties to the University of Iowa Writers Workshop earn honors from the American Academy of Arts and Letters.
Stephen Kuusisto, Andrea Cohen, Sandra Lim,Tracie Morris, Alexander Chee, 2021 Guggenheim Fellows

2021 Guggenheim Fellowships Awarded to Alexander Chee, Andrea Cohen, Stephen Kuusisto, Sandra Lim and Tracie Morris

Thursday, April 8, 2021
Five writers with ties to the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop earned 2021 Guggenheim Fellowships.
A portrait of Toby Altman

Toby Altman Awarded 2021 NEA Literature Fellowship in Poetry

Thursday, October 8, 2020
Iowa Writers' Workshop graduate Toby Altman wins the 2021 NEA Literature Fellowship in Poetry.
Fred Moten

Fred Moten receives 2020 Truman Capote Award

Thursday, October 8, 2020
Fred Moten won the 2020 Truman Capote Award for Literary Criticism in Memory of Newton Arvin for his book, Black and Blur, released by Duke University Press in 2017.
Tracie Morris

Tracie Morris to join Writers' Workshop faculty

Thursday, August 27, 2020
Tracie Morris joined the Iowa Writers' Workshop in 2020.
Covers for three books on the Booker Prize long list

Three Writers' Workshop graduates longlisted for the 2020 Booker Prize

Monday, July 27, 2020
Three graduates of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop were among those longlisted for the 2020 Booker Prize: Kiley Reid, Brandon Taylor, and C Pam Zhang.