Program News

Jamel Brinkley, Robyn Schiff and Justin Torres portrait collage

Workshop faculty and alumni named 2024 Guggenheim Fellows

Friday, April 12, 2024
Guggenheim Fellows this year include Assistant Professor of Fiction Jamel Brinkley, alumni Justin Torres and Robyn Schiff, and artist Lorraine O'Grady, who also attended the Writers' Workshop.
Ada Zhang, seated with forearms arms crossed across lap

Ada Zhang winner of a 2024 Whiting Award in Fiction

Wednesday, April 10, 2024
Iowa Writers’ Workshop graduate Ada Zhang among the recipients of the 2024 Whiting Award, prestigious literary award for emerging writers
A portrait of Justin Torres

Justin Torres wins the 2023 National Book Award for Fiction

Thursday, November 16, 2023
University of Iowa Writers’ Workshop graduate Justin Torres won the 2023 National Book Award for Fiction.
An image of Dove Rita on a graphic overlay

National Book Foundation to present Lifetime Achievement Award to Rita Dove

Saturday, September 9, 2023
Rita Dove, an Iowa Writers' Workshop graduate received the 2023 Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters.
A portrait of Logan Hoffman-Smith

Logan Hoffman-Smith a 2023 Lambda Literary Fellow in Fiction

Thursday, July 13, 2023
Iowa Writers' Workshop graduate Logan Hoffman-Smith was named one of 100 emerging LGBTQ writers to join Lambda Literary's 2023 Writer's Retreat for Emerging LGBTQ Voices.
Images of Vauhini Vara and Xochitl Gonzalez

Xochitl Gonzalez and Vauhini Vara announced 2023 Pulitzer Prize Finalists

Tuesday, May 9, 2023
Iowa Writers' Workshop graduates Xochitl Gonzalez and Vauhini Vara are 2023 Pulitzer Prize Finalists.