Our alumni work as teachers and writers across many disciplines and publish books in every genre. 6 recent U.S. Poets Laureate have been graduates of the Writers' Workshop and some of the most distinctive, celebrated voices in contemporary poetry and fiction have come through our program and used their time here to develop their work and their voice.

"I do not in fact know what I would have done, or who I would have been as an adult, if I hadn’t lived in and around Iowa City"

 - Jane Smiley, Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, MFA Writers' Workshop


News, Publications, and Awards

V. V. Ganeshananthan wins the 2024 Carol Shields Prize for Fiction Jayne Anne Phillips wins the 2024 Pulitzer Prize in Fiction Jorie Graham, Yiyun Li, and Robyn Schiff are finalists for the 2024 Pulitzer Prizes in Fiction and Poetry V. V. Ganeshananthan is shortlisted for the 2024 Women's Prize for Fiction Jamel Brinkley, Justin Torres, and Robyn Schiff are named 2024 Guggenheim fellows Ada Zhang receives a 2024 Whiting Award Lan Samantha Chang receives 2024 Arts and Letters Award from the Academy of Arts and Letters

The Body Farm book cover

The Body Farm: Stories 
Abby Geni 
May 7, 2024 | Fiction


Green for Luck, by Margaret Yapp

Green for Luck 
Margaret Yapp 
April 23, 2024 | Poetry


The Road from Belhaven, by Margot Livesey

The Road from Belhaven 
Margot Livesey 
February 6, 2024 | Fiction


PlayHouse: Poems, by Jorrell Watkins

PlayHouse: Poems 
Jorrell Watkins 
April 15, 2024 | Poetry


The Latest Updates


Friday, July 19, 2024
The University of Iowa Center for Advancement's 100-Word Microstory Contest is officially underway! You have until Friday, July 26, 2024, at 4 p.m. CDT, to compose and submit your microstory https://www.foriowa.org/write-now/microstory/


Friday, July 19, 2024
A fictional piece by Gary Duehr, "Mea Culpa," in 'pioneertown.' literary journal www.pioneertownlit.com/gary-duehr https://www.pioneertownlit.com/gary-duehr


Friday, July 19, 2024
Santiago Jose Sanchez in Los Angeles, CA on July 25, in conversation with Belinda Huijuan Tang https://www.discoverlosangeles.com/event/2024/07/25/at-skylight-santiago-jose-sanchez-presents-hombrecito-w-belinda-huijuan-tang


Friday, July 19, 2024
Claire Lombardo in Minneapolis, MN on July 23, celebrating the release of 'Same As It Ever Was' https://moonpalacebooks.com/events/20240723


Friday, July 19, 2024
Yellow Arrow Publishing announces the guest editor for Yellow Arrow Journal Vol. IX, No. 2, Tramaine Suubi https://www.yellowarrowpublishing.com/news/fullness-grief-guest-editor-yaj-ix-02-suubi


Friday, July 19, 2024
The Writing University's Sad Me of the Past Podcast features Nam Le https://writinguniversity.org/news-archive/2024/07/sad-me-past-episode-5-nam-le
Jamel Brinkley, Robyn Schiff and Justin Torres portrait collage

Workshop faculty and alumni named 2024 Guggenheim Fellows

Friday, April 12, 2024
Guggenheim Fellows this year include Assistant Professor of Fiction Jamel Brinkley, alumni Justin Torres and Robyn Schiff, and artist Lorraine O'Grady, who also attended the Writers' Workshop.
Ada Zhang, seated with forearms arms crossed across lap

Ada Zhang winner of a 2024 Whiting Award in Fiction

Wednesday, April 10, 2024
Iowa Writers’ Workshop graduate Ada Zhang among the recipients of the 2024 Whiting Award, prestigious literary award for emerging writers
A portrait of Justin Torres

Justin Torres wins the 2023 National Book Award for Fiction

Thursday, November 16, 2023
University of Iowa Writers’ Workshop graduate Justin Torres won the 2023 National Book Award for Fiction.
speech bubble icon

We love hearing from alumni! If you have news to share, reach out to us!