Program News

Yaa Gyasi

Yaa Gyasi receives Vilcek Prize for Creative Promise in Literature

Monday, February 3, 2020
Yaa Gyasi is one of three recipients this year who has received a Vilcek Prize for Creative Promise in Literature, which includes a cash prize of $50,000.
Renée Branum, Danielle Valore Evans, Anjali Sachdeva, Maggie Shipstead, Frances de Pontes Peebles, and Lance Olsen

Six Writers' Workshop alumni awarded 2020 Literature Fellowships

Thursday, January 16, 2020
The six Iowa Writers' Workshop alumni were among the 36 writers granted a 2020 Literature Fellowship in Prose from the National Endowment for the Arts.
Brent Hayes Edwards

Brent Hayes Edwards receives 2019 Truman Capote Award

Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Brent Hayes Edwards won the 2019 Truman Capote Award for Literary Criticism in Memory of Newton Arvin for his book, Epistrophies: Jazz and the Literary Imagination, released by Harvard University Press.
Joy Harjo

Librarian of Congress Names Joy Harjo the Nation's 23rd Poet Laureate

Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Librarian of Congress Carla Hayden today announced the appointment of Joy Harjo, Iowa Writers’ Workshop alumna, as the nation’s 23rd Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry for 2019-2020.
Robert Hass

Robert Hass receives 2018 Truman Capote Award

Monday, October 8, 2018
Former U.S. Poet Laureate Robert Hass won the 2018 Truman Capote Award for Literary Criticism in Memory of Newton Arvin for his book. The award is administered by the Iowa Writers' Workshop at the University of Iowa.
Natalia Reyes

‘Permission to dream’ Writers’ Workshop student named Soros fellow

Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Natalia Reyes receives Sorros Fellowship