Program News

Abigail Carney

Writers' Workshop alumna discusses finished novel and television show script

Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Abigail Carney, who is from Ohio, shares what she's learned while pursuing her MFA at Iowa Writers' Workshop.
Yiyun Li, Garth Greenwell, and Oscar Cásares

2020 Guggenheim Fellowships awarded to Yiyun Li, Oscar Cásares, and Garth Greenwell

Thursday, April 9, 2020
Workshop alumni Yiyun Li (MFA, 2005), Oscar Cásares(MFA, 2001), and Garth Greenwell (MFA, 2015) are among 175 scholars, artists, and scientists awarded fellowships this year from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation.
Yiyun Li

Yiyun Li Wins a 2020 Windham-Campbell Prize in Fiction

Thursday, March 19, 2020
Yiyun Li (MFA, 2005) won a Windham-Campbell Prize in fiction in 2020.
Book covers for The Dutch House and The Most Fun We Ever Had.

Two Writers' Workshop alums are on the longlist for the Women’s Prize for Fiction

Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Iowa Writers' Workshop alumni Claire Lombardo (MFA, 2017) and Ann Patchett (MFA, 1987) are on the longlist for the 2020 Women's Prize for Fiction.

Willa Richards awarded PEN/Robert J. Dau Short Story Prize for Emerging Writers

Monday, March 2, 2020
Willa Richards was selected as a winner of the PEN/Robert J. Dau Short Story Prize for Emerging Writers for her short story, "Failure to Thrive."
Yiyun Li Awarded the 2020 PEN/Jean Stein Book Award

Yiyun Li awarded the PEN/Jean Stein Book Award

Monday, March 2, 2020
Yiyun Li (MFA, 2005) accepted the 2020 PEN/Jean Stein Book Award at a March 2 ceremony in New York, NY for her 2019 novel, Where Reasons End.