Friday, September 17, 2021

The Souvenir Museum, by Elizabeth McCracken (MFA '90), has been longlisted for The National Book Foundation's 2021 Award for Fiction

Elizabeth McCracken and her book cover
Elizabeth McCracken

Elizabeth McCracken is the author of seven books: Here’s Your Hat What’s Your Hurry, The Giant’s House, Niagara Falls All Over AgainAn Exact Replica of a Figment of My Imagination, Thunderstruck & Other Stories, Bowlaway, and The Souvenir Museum.  She has received grants and fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, the Liguria Study Center, the American Academy in Berlin, the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, and the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study. Thunderstruck & Other Stories won the 2015 Story Prize. Her work has been published in The Best American Short Stories, The Pushcart Prize, The O. Henry Prize, The New York Times Magazine, and many other places.

This is the third time Elizabeth McCracken has been honored by the National Book Award for Fiction. Thunderstruck & Other Stories was longlisted in 2014 and The Giant’s House was a finalist in 1996.