D.A. Powell


Fall 2017

D. A. Powell is the author of five original poetry collections, including the trilogy of Tea (Wesleyan University Press, 1998), Lunch (Wesleyan University Press, 2000), and Cocktails (Graywolf Press, 2004), which was nominated for the National Book Critics Circle Award. His poetry collection, Chronic (Graywolf Press, 2009), received the Kingsley Tufts Award, and was nominated for a National Book Critics Circle Award. His most recent books are Repast: Tea, Lunch, Cocktails (Graywolf Press, 2014) and Useless Landscape, or a Guide for Boys: Poems (Graywolf Press, 2012), which was the winner of the 2013 National Book Critics Circle Award in Poetry.

A graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop, his honors include a Paul Engle Fellowship from the James Michener Center, a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts, and the Lyric Poetry Award from the Poetry Society of America. He has taught at Columbia University, the University of Iowa, Sonoma State University, San Francisco State University, and served as the Briggs-Copeland Lecturer in Poetry at Harvard University. He currently teaches at the University of San Francisco.

Research areas
  • Poetry
Portrait of D.A. Powell