Lynn Emanuel and Mary Hickman Honored by the Academy of American Poets

The Nerve of It, by Lynn Emanuel

The Nerve of It, by Lynn Emanuel

September 13, 2016 - 1:30pm

Iowa Writers' Workshop alumni Lynn Emanuel and Mary Hickman are among the recipients of The Academy of American Poets 2016 American Poets Prizes

Lynn Emanuel was awarded the Lenore Marshal Poetry Prize for her book, The Nerve of It: Poems New and Selected. The prize recognizes the most outstanding book of poetry published in the United States in the previous year. Past recipients include C.D. Wright, Alice Notley, Charles Wright, and Robert Pinsky. 

About Emanuel’s winning book, judges Amy Gerstler, Reginald Gibbons, and Kimiko Hahn wrote: “Every poem in Lynn Emanuel’s The Nerve of It brims with unfailing invention and virtuoso wordcraft. This volume of new and selected poems is a beautifully integrated whole, the arc of a life: heady, bold, vivid, sexy, intensely envisioned, metaphorically brilliant. The Nerve of It is a witty and courageous body of work."

Mary Hickman's book, Rayfish (Omnidawn, 2017) was awarded the James Laughlin Award, which is given to recognize and support a second book of poetry forthcoming in the next calendar year.

Judge Carmen Giménez Smith wrote about Hickman’s winning book: “Each poem in Mary Hickman’s Rayfish is a scrupulous consideration of how art disturbs, distorts, informs and shapes our history of engagement with the artificial world. Personal, ekphrastic, and essayistic, these poems are also an incisive contemplation on memory-making and that mechanism’s effect on aesthetics.”

For more information:

The Academicy of American Poets Announces the Recipients of the 2016 American Poets Prizes