Garth Greenwell a PEN/Faulkner Award Finalist

Garth Greenwell

Garth Greenwell

March 7, 2017 - 12:15pm

Iowa Writers' Workshop graduate Garth Greenwell is a finalist for the 2017 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction, for his novel, What Belongs to You, published by Farrar, Straus, and Giroux in 2016.

The PEN/Faulkner Award is a national prize which honors the best published works of fiction by American citizens in a calendar year. Past winners include James Hannaham, Deborah Eisenberg, Sherman Alexie, Philip Roth, Ha Jin, Ann Patchett, and Michael Cunningham. The winner of the 2017 award will be announced on April 4.

What Belongs to You was also longlisted for the National Book Award for Fiction, shortlisted for the Center for Fiction's First Novel Prize, and is currently a finalist for the L.A. Times Book Prize in Fiction. The New York Times named What Belongs to You a "Top 10 Book of 2016."

For more information:

PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction

Garth Greenwell author website