Four Writers’ Workshop Alums win Writers Guild “Original Long Form” Award for 'Castle Rock'

2019 Writers Guild Award

From left: Workshop alumni Mark Lafferty, Sam Shaw, Lila Byock, Vinnie Wilhelm

February 19, 2019 - 11:30am

Marc Bernardin, Scott Brown, Lila Byock, Mark Lafferty, Sam Shaw, Dustin Thomason, Gina Welch and Vinnie Wilhelm were honored by the Writers Guild of America when they won the Original Long Form award category for their work on Hulu’s Castle Rock. Lila Byock, Mark Lafferty, Sam Shaw, and Vinnie Wilhelm are all alumni of the Writers’ Workshop.

The Writers Guild Awards honor outstanding writing in film, television, new media, videogames, news, radio, promotional, and graphic animation categories. The 2019 Writers Guild Awards (71st Annual) were presented at concurrent ceremonies on Sunday, February 17, 2019, in Los Angeles at The Beverly Hilton and in New York City at the Edison Ballroom. The Original Long Form category recognizes writers of the best long-form television program not based on previously published material.