Bennett Sims awarded 2018-2019 Rome Prize

Bennett Sims
April 12, 2018 - 8:00pm

Writers’ Workshop alumnus and novelist Bennett Sims (MFA 2012) has been awarded the Joseph Brodsky Rome Prize for Literature, a gift of the Drue Heinz Trust.

On April 12, the American Academy in Rome (AAR) announced the winners of the 2018-2019 Rome Prize and Italian Fellowships. These highly competitive fellowships support advanced independent work and research in the arts and humanities.

This year, 29 Rome Prizes were awarded to 29 artists and scholars, who will receive a stipend, workspace, and room and board for a period of five months to two years at the Academy’s eleven-acre campus in Rome. The Rome Prize and Italian Fellowship winners were presented during the Arthur and Janet C. Ross Rome Prize Ceremony in the Frederick P. Rose Auditorium at Cooper Union in New York.

Rome Prize winners are selected annually by independent juries of distinguished artists and scholars through a national competition. The eleven disciplines supported by the Academy are: Literature, Music Composition, Visual Arts, Architecture, Landscape Architecture, Design, and Historic Preservation and Conservation, as well as Ancient Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance and Early Modern Studies, and Modern Italian Studies. Nationwide, 928 applications were received from 44 US states and Washington, DC. The ages of the winners range from 27 to 56.

Past winners of the Rome Prize have included:

T. Geronimo Johnson (MFA 2008), awarded the 2017-2018 John Guare Writer’s Fund Rome Prize for Literature, a gift of Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman

Matthew Neill Null (MFA 2009), awarded the 2016-2017 Joseph Brodsky Rome Prize for Literature, a gift of the Drue Heinz Trust/American Academy of Arts and Letters

For more information:

Rome Prize Announcement