A.M. Homes Wins The Women's Prize for Fiction

A.M. Homes holds award

A.M. Homes

June 6, 2013 - 12:00am

Congratulations to Workshop alum A.M. Homes, winner of the 2013 Women's Prize for Fiction, formerly known as the Orange Prize, for her sixth novel, May We Be Forgiven

The actor Miranda Richardson, who chaired the judging panel, said the book went beyond the prize's criteria of originality, accessibility and excellence. "It was so fresh and so funny – darkly funny – and so unexpectedly moving," she said.

Started in 1996, the $46,000 annual prize is awarded to the best novel written in English by a woman. The other shortlist books were Life After Life, by Kate Atkinson, Flight Behavior, by Barbara Kingsolver, Bring Up the Bodies, by Hilary Mantel, Where'd You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple, and NW, by Zadie Smith.

A.M. Homes Wins Women's Prize for Fiction, The Guardian