T. C. Boyle

T.C. Boyle
December 6, 2018 - 8:00pm
Glenn Schaeffer Library
Frank Conroy Reading Room

Workshop graduate, T. Coraghessan Boyle is the author of seventeen novels and more than 100 short stories. His novels most recently include The Relive Box (2017), The Terranauts (2016), The Harder They Come (2015), and the forthcoming Outside Looking In (2019). He has been the recipient of a number of prestigious literary awards, including the PEN/Malamud Prize in Short Fiction (T.C. Boyle Stories, 1999), the Prix Médicis Étranger for best foreign novel in France (The Tortilla Curtain, 1997), the PEN/Faulkner Prize for best novel of the year (World's End, 1988), and five O. Henry Awards for his short stories ("Swept Away", 2003; "The Love of My Life", 2001; "The Underground Gardens", 1999; "The Ape Lady in Retirement", 1989; and "Sinking House", 1988). Boyle's stories have appeared in a host of American magazines and literary periodicals, including The New Yorker, Harper's, Esquire, The Atlantic Monthly, Playboy, The Paris Review, GQ, Antaeus, Granta, and McSweeney's. His work has been translated into more than two dozen languages. He is a Distinguished Professor of English at the University of Southern California, where he has taught since 1978.

Photo by Jamieson Fry, 2013.